The organisation of the BNEN programme is governed by an inter-university agreement between the rectors of the three universities in the Flemish community (KULeuven, UGent, VUB), the presidents of the three academies in the French community under which the universities UCL, ULg and ULB resort and the director-general of SCK CEN.

Inter-university agreement 

The day to day management of the programme, student issues and general policy is governed by the BNEN Academic Committee in which each university has one member present, together with the Administration Manager of the BNEN, the BNEN secretary and two student members.

Academic Committee for the academic years 2020-2022


Université Catholoque de Louvain (UCL)

Prof. Yann Bartosiewicz

 proxy Prof. Hamid Aït Abderrahim

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KUL)

Prof. William D'haeseleer

 proxy Prof. Walter Bogaerts

Universiteit Gent (UGent)

Prof. Klaus Bacher

 proxy Prof. Jean-Marie Noterdaeme

Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB)

Prof. Peter Baeten

 proxy Prof. Alex Hermanne

Université de Liège (ULg)

Prof. Maarten Arnst


Prof. Hubert Druenne

Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB)

Prof. Nicolas Pauly

Prof. Pierre-Etienne Labeau

Belgian Nuclear Research Centre (SCK CEN)

Prof. Eric van Walle
Director General SCK CEN


Ms. Kris Pennemans