Skip to main content


Governance (2019)

The organisation of the BNEN programme is governed by an inter-university agreement between the rectors of the three universities in the Flemish community (KULeuven, UGent, VUB), the presidents of the three academies in the French community under which the universities UCLouvain, ULg and ULB resort and the director-general of SCK CEN.

The day to day management of the programme, student issues and general policy is governed by the BNEN Academic Committee in which each university has one member present, together with the Administration Manager of the BNEN, the BNEN secretary and one student member.

Inter-university agreement

Download here

Academic Committee for the academic years 2022-2024

Université Catholoque de Louvain (UCLouvain)

Prof. Yann Bartosiewicz
Yann [dot] Bartosiewicz [at] uclouvain [dot] be

Prof. Hamid Aït Abderrahim (proxy)
hamid [dot] ait [dot] abderrahim [at] sckcen [dot] be

Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (KU Leuven)

Prof. Geert Van den Branden
geert [dot] van [dot] den [dot] branden [at] sckcen [dot] be

Prof. William D’haeseleer (proxy)
William [dot] Dhaeseleer [at] kuleuven [dot] be

Universiteit Gent (UGent)

Prof. Klaus Bacher
klaus [dot] bacher [at] ugent [dot] be

Prof. Matthias Vanderhaegen (proxy)
matthias [dot] vanderhaegen [at] ugent [dot] be

Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB)

Prof. Peter Baeten
Vice Chair
peter [dot] baeten [at] sckcen [dot] be

Prof. Prof. Iris De Graeve (proxy)
Iris [dot] De [dot] Graeve [at] vub [dot] be

Université de Liège (ULg)

Prof. Maarten Arnst
maarten [dot] arnst [at] ulg [dot] ac [dot] be

Prof. Christophe Bruggeman (proxy)
christophe [dot] bruggeman [at] sckcen [dot] be 

Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB)

Prof. Nicolas Pauly
Nicolas [dot] Pauly [at] ulb [dot] ac [dot] be

Prof. Pierre-Etienne Labeau (proxy)
pelabeau [at] ulb [dot] ac [dot] be

Belgian Nuclear Research Centre (SCK CEN)

Prof. Peter Baeten
Director General SCK CEN
peter [dot] baeten [at] sckcen [dot] be

Ms. Kris Pennemans
bnen [at] sckcen [dot] be

Share this page